Developments in Language Theory (DLT)

An International Conference Series under the auspices of the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS)


The series of International Conferences Developments in Language Theory provides a forum for presenting current developments in formal languages and automata. Its scope is very general and includes, among others, the following topics and areas: combinatorial and algebraic properties of words and languages; grammars, acceptors and transducers for strings, trees, graphs, arrays; algebraic theories for automata and languages; codes; efficient text algorithms; symbolic dynamics; decision problems; relationships to complexity theory and logic; picture description and analysis; polyominoes and bidimensional patterns; cryptography; concurrency; cellular automata; bio-inspired computing; quantum computing.


The first Developments in Language Theory (DLT) conference was organized by G. Rozenberg and A. Salomaa in

  • Turku, Finland in 1993.

Since 1993, the DLT conferences were held in every odd year:

  • Magdeburg, Germany (1995),
  • Thessaloniki, Greece (1997),
  • Aachen, Germany (1999) and
  • Vienna, Austria (2001).

Since 2001, a DLT conference takes place in Europe in every odd year and outside Europe in every even year. The locations of DLT conferences since 2002 were:

Steering Committee

  • Marie-Pierre Béal (Marne-la-Vallée, France)
  • Cristian S. Calude (Auckland, New Zealand)
  • Volker Diekert (Stuttgart, Germany)
  • Yo-Sub Han (Seoul, Republic of Korea)
  • Juraj Hromkovic (Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Oscar H. Ibarra (Santa Barbara, USA)
  • Nataša Jonoska (Tampa, USA)
  • Juhani Karhumäki (Turku, Finland), chair 2010-2020
  • Martin Kutrib (Giessen, Germany)
  • Giovanni Pighizzini (Milano, Italy), chair 2020-
  • Michel Rigo (Liège, Belgium)
  • Antonio Restivo (Palermo, Italy)
  • Wojciech Rytter (Warsaw, Poland)
  • Kai Salomaa (Kingston, Canada)
  • Shinnosuke Seki (Tokyo, Japan)
  • Mikhail Volkov (Ekaterinburg, Russia)
  • Takashi Yokomori (Tokyo, Japan)

Honorary members:

  • Grzegorz Rozenberg (Leiden, Netherlands)
  • Arto Salomaa (Turku, Finland)

Past Proceedings

Special Issues of DLT

DLT Award

A special DLT award was given to professors Arto Salomaa and Grzegorz Rozenberg during the 20th DLT symposium in Montreal in 2016. The award was given due to their distinguished contributions to automata theory and founding the DLT conference. The award consisted of a DLT Award diploma and an artistic glass work of an owl.

Salomaa Prize

As a continuation of the DLT Award, an annual prize, named as Salomaa Prize, was created in 2018. The first prize was awarded in the DLT symposium in Tokyo in 2018. The prize consists of a diploma and 2000 euros prize funded by the University of Turku, the home university of Arto Salomaa. The selection of the winner is decided by an international prize committee which is appointed by the steering committee of DLT. There is an open call for nominations.

Prize Winners

  • 2024: Mikołaj Bojańczyk, University of Warsaw, Poland
  • 2023: Moshe Y. Vardi, Rice University, Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
  • 2022: Juhani Karhumäki, University of Turku, Finland
  • 2021: suspended because of the pandemic
  • 2020 (given in DLT 2021): Joël Ouaknine, Max Planck Institute for Software Systems, Germany / University of Oxford, United Kingdom, James Worrell, University of Oxford, United Kingdom
  • 2019: Artur Jeż, University of Wrocław, Poland
  • 2018: Jean-Éric Pin, University Paris-Diderot, Paris, France